Goin’ Back In The Times

This album was originally supposed to be half with a band and half solo. In the studio Homesick got into an argument...


  • This album was originally supposed to be half with a band and half solo. In the studio Homesick got into an argument which stopped the band session after a few disjointed tracks had been laid down. The next day Homesick played the solo style he was so adept at but rarely recorded, evoking the sounds and spirits of his contemporaries Lonnie Johnson, Tampa Red, Memphis Minnie and his own early roots in Tennessee. Honeyboy Edwards guests on second guitar on a few tracks.

    “The material is superb. Homesick’s covers…are both heartfelt and personalized, and his own creations range from solid to brilliant. …such creativity and vitality from an artist of Homesick’s years is remarkable.” – Living Blues
    “This release features James’ strangely interesting guitar playing and singing on several vibrant country blues that…evoke a time and place, though now gone, that live on in this powerful and magical music.” – The Record Roundup

    1. Livin’ Like A Bear 5:26
    2. Bad Situation 3:34
    3. Kissing In The Dark 1:53
    4. Better Know What You Runnin’ From 3:24
    5. Goin’ Back IN The Times 4:44
    6. Rocky Mountain 4:31
    7. They Call Me Hot Foot Homesick 5:15
    8. What Done Got Into That Woman 5:03
    9. Crossroads Years Ago (Honeyboy Is A Friend Of Mine) 6:38
    10. Bitin’ Me And Shakin’ Me All Up And Down 4:40
    11. .38 Pistol 2:13
  • Release Date: August 24, 2016



    Homesick James – Guitar and vocals
    David “Honeyboy” Edwards – Second Guitar

    Recorded August 27, 1992 at Riverside Studio, Chicago, IL
    Paul Smith – Lead Engineer, Paul Serrano – Second Engineer
    Mixed and 1630 Mastered at Acme Recording Studio, Chicago, IL – Paul Smith and Blaise Barton, Engineers

    Design by Al Brandtner

    Cover Photography by Bill Steber; Back Cover Photography by Robert Barclay

    All songs written by William Henderson, aka Homesick James Williamson, Earwig Music (BMI) except Kissing in the Dark by Memphis Minnie, copyright control; Rocky Mountain by Sam “Lightin’” Hopkins, Prestige Music; and .38 Pistol by Yank Rachell, Duchess Music.