Live In Chicago

In 1989 on a brutally cold February night in Madison, Wisconsin Earwig recorded Big Jack with Jack’s five piece band from Clarksdale,...


  • In 1989 on a brutally cold February night in Madison, Wisconsin Earwig recorded Big Jack with Jack’s five piece band from Clarksdale, augmented by his past band mates Frank Frost, Sam Carr and “Little Geno” Tucker. That album was not released due to the band being unfamiliar with Jack’s original tunes. Those tunes were rerecorded with a crack band of Chicago session players for what became the 1990 album Daddy, When Is Mama Comin Home? Not until Jack came back to Chicago to play with the Aron Burton Blues Band in 1994 and 1995 was Earwig finally able to capture Jack live at his full power, doing his mix of blues classics and his own contemporary Delta blues storytelling.

    “You’re listening to real blues played by a real blues man. It doesn’t get any better than this; you’ll feel like you’re sitting right there in a smoky club when you listen to Live In Chicago.” – Music Paper

    1. Pistol Packin Mama 6:14
    2. Since I Met You Baby 6:10
    3. Night Train 5:13
    4. Ain’t Nothin’ You Can Do 3:53
    5. Daddy, When Is Mama Comin Home? 7:22
    6. Twist 2:58
    7. Sweet Sixteen 6:09
    8. Fightin’ Woman 5:53
    9. Steal Away 5:13
    10. The Blues Is Alright 4:25
    11. Black Rooster 6:51
    12. I Got A Whole Lotta Lovin’ 4:16
  • Release Date: May 24, 1997

    Big Jack Johnson – vocals and lead guitar
    The Aron Burton Band – with Aron Burton, bass and band leader
    Allen Batts – piano
    Michael Dotson – rhythm guitar
    Kenny Smith – drums on Legends tracks
    Tino Cortez – drums on Hothouse tracks
    Special Guest Lester “Mad Dog” Davenport – harmonica on Legends tracks

    Produced by Michael Robert Frank

    © P 1997 Earwig Music Company, Inc.

    Writers and publishers by track:

    1 Big Jack Johnson, Drop Top Music
    2 Ivory Joe Hunter, Unichappell Music, Inc.
    3 Jimmy Forrest, Oscar Washington, Simpkins, Embassy Music Corp.
    4 Deadric Malone & Joseph Wade Scott, MCA/Duchess Music Corp.
    5 Big Jack Johnson, Earwig Music, administered by BMG Music
    6 Hank Ballard, Trio Fort Knox Music
    7 Ahmet Ertegun, Unichappell Music, Inc.
    8 Big Jack Johnson, Drop Top Music
    9 John Green & Joseph Scott, MCA/Duchess Music Corp.
    10 Milton Campbell, Trice Publishing Co, Inc.
    11 Big Jack Johnson, Fiorina Music
    12 Riley B. King, Sounds of Lucille

    Songs 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 11 recorded live March 4, 1995 at Buddy Guy’s Legends, Chicago, Illinois
    Timothy Powell – Metro Mobile, lead engineer, Paul Smith – Acme Studios, 2nd engineer
    Songs 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12 recorded live June 4, 1994 at the Hothouse, Chicago, Illinois, Todd Coburn – engineer
    Mixed, edited, and mastered by Paul Smith, Acme Recording
    Thanks to Andre Hobus for the front cover photo
    Graphic design by Terran Doehrer, Earth Star Graphics, Evanston, Illinois