“This is a wonderful record …. The first 14 cuts are from 1942 Library of Congress recordings …. Edwards’ playing is as...


  • All the tunes, including five band tracks, evoke the glory days before World War II, when Honeyboy developed his repertoire from his encounters with Big Joe Williams, Curtis Jones, Peetie Wheatstraw, Tommy McClennan and others.  Especially noteworthy is Honeyboy’s performance of “Big Katie Allen,” a tune he learned from previously unknown Andrew Moore, a Mississippian whose guitar making and fingerpicking he admired.  Equally delightful are Honeyboy’s short tales about his life as a bluesman during the 1930s.

    “This is a wonderful record ….  The first 14 cuts are from 1942 Library of Congress recordings ….  Edwards’ playing is as Delta blues as it gets … Edwards can still lay down some mean blues ….  If you have any interest in Mississippi blues, you’ve got to have this album.” — Living Blues

    “One is left with the feeling of the natural blues from way back from one of the last living masters.” — Beach News, Encinitas, California

    1. Alan Lomax introduces David Edwards 0:27
    2. Roamin’ And Ramblin’ Blues 2:58
    3. I’m from the Library of Congress 4:26
    4. You Got To Roll (accapella) 0:56
    5. You Got To Roll (Levee Camp Song) 2:29
    6. Water Coast Blues 5:51
    7. Stagolee 1:03
    8. Just A Spoonful 1:44
    9. Spread My Raincoast Down 2:28
    10. Hellatakin’ Blues 0:47
    11. Wind Howlin’ Blues 3:12
    12. Worried Life Blues 2:53
    13. Tear It Down Rag 2:53
    14. The Army Blues 3:47
    15. They called it Big Kate 2:24
    16. Big Katie Allen 4:05
    17. Black Cat 3:33
    18. I met Peetie Wheatstraw in ’39 0:58
    19. Number 12 At The Station 3:50
    20. When I came to Memphis 0:37
    21. Rocks In My Pillow 4:16
    22. We used to sing that when I was a kid 1:11
    23. Decoration Day 4:35
    24. Who May Your Regular Be 3:28
    25. I studied up that song myself 1:15
    26. Eyes Full Of Tears 3:17
    27. Bad Whiskey And Cocaine 4:26
  • Release Date: May 19, 1992

    © 1992 Earwig Music Company, Inc.
    David Edwards music publishing administered by BMG

    David “Honeyboy” Edwards – guitar, vocals, rack harmonica
    Carey Bell – harmonica
    Sunnyland Slim – piano
    Aron Burton – bass
    Robert Plunkett – drums

    Produced by: Michael Frank and Mike Vernon, an Earwig/Indigo Co-Production
    Tracks 1,2 and 4-14 were produced and recorded for The Library of Congress on 20th and 22nd July 1942 by Alan Lomax in Clarksdale, Mississippi.
    Track 27 was recorded on 8th June 1979 by Michael Rasfeld, engineer, at Acme Recording Studios, Chicago, Illinois with Arthur Lee Stevenson aka Kansas City Red – drums/comments and Floyd Jones – acoustic second guitar.
    Remaining tracks were recorded in 1991 at IdealSound Recorders, London by David Kenny, engineer; and in 1991 at Acme Recording Studios, Chicago, Illinois by Paul Smith – lead engineer, with Dan White and Pat LeVintre – second engineers.