Midnight Prowler

This album includes a New York session by the quintessential Mississippi juke joint band The Jelly Roll Kings, with Big Jack Johnson...


  • This album includes a New York session by the quintessential Mississippi juke joint band The Jelly Roll Kings, with Big Jack Johnson on lead guitar and Sam Carr on drums, and a Chicago session with Big Jack Johnson, as well as Clarksdale’s Earnest Roy Jr. on guitar, bass and drums, and his brother Walter Roy on bass and drums. Frank Frost shakes the rafters with his intense lead vocals, with Sam and Big Jack on background vocals on three tracks.

    “Make it funky! For down-home blues fans it doesn’t get much better than this. Vocalist/harp player Frost… comes on with the raw basics, accompanied by two different groups featuring his superb guitarist Big Jack Johnson. Well-balanced mix of covers and originals is rough and real, and will kick the butt of any dyed-in-the-wool blues nut.”
    – Billboard

    1. Gonna Put Her Down 3:08
    2. Ernest’s Groove 4:27
    3. Undertaker 2:34
    4. Scratch My Back 4:07
    5. Midnight Prowler 3:01
    6. Just Like A Rabbit 2:38
    7. Quarter To Twelve 4:39
    8. My Back Scratcher 2:44
    9. Cummins Prison Farm 5:08
    10. Unseen Eye 2:56
    11. Mean Black Spider 4:42
    12. Who Told You 3:20
    13. Mustang Sally 5:13
    14. I Wanna Get Close 3:28
  • Release Date: June 24, 1990

    Producers: Michael Robert Frank and Frank Frost

    Frank Frost – piano, harmonica, synthesizer, vocals
    Sam Carr – drums, background vocals
    Jack Johnson – guitar, bass, background vocals
    Ernest Roy – guitar
    Walter Roy – drums
    Recording: Michael Rasfeld – engineer, Acme Audio & Recording, Chicago, Illinois
    Kenny Patnaude – engineer – Prince Recording Studios, New York, New York

    Photography: Allan Dodds Frank – front cover
    John Rockwood – back cover
    Design: Terran Doehrer, Earth Star Graphics, Evanston, Illinois