Ain’t Gonna Worry

This album garnered rave reviews all over the world. Johnny was honored by the 1996 Living Blues Critic’s Poll Best Contemporary Blues...


  • This album garnered rave reviews all over the world. Johnny was honored by the 1996 Living Blues Critic’s Poll Best Contemporary Blues and the 1997 Handy Award For Best New Artist. It features Johnny’s unique vocals, lead guitar, harmonica and songwriting—a passionate blend of blues, soul and gospel. “Yard Dog” loved the band of Chicago’s finest—Johnny B. Moore on lead and rhythm guitar, Detroit Junior on piano, Bernard Reed on bass, and Kenny “Beedy Eyes” Smith on drums. Johnny quit touring a few years after this recording came out, though he continues to write and play occasionally. This is the only full album of his work.

    “If you like your blues straight-ahead and tough, with just a hint of soul, this is the one to get.” – Blues Revue
    “Thirteen tracks of solid blues marked by Yard Dog’s soulful vocals and flowing harp solos.” – Campus Reader (Ames, IA)

    1. Don’t Leave Me Broken-Hearted 4:41
    2. Cry For Me Baby 4:16
    3. Clouds In My Heart 5:31
    4. I Need A Sugar Mama 3:41
    5. Anything But Without You 5:55
    6. Tribute to Bill Doggett 3:10
    7. Your Used To Be 3:45
    8. Love Storm 4:34
    9. Ain’t No Hoochie Coochie Man 5:29
    10. Ain’t Gonna Worry No More 3:50
    11. You Can’t Call The Blues 4:53
    12. A Changed Feeling 4:24
    13. Goin’ Home 3:06
  • Release Date: May 16, 1996

    Johnny “Yard Dog” Jones – vocals, harmonica, lead guitar
    Johnny B. Moore – lead guitar, rhythm guitar
    Bernard Reed – bass
    Kenny “Beedy-eyes” Smith – drums
    Emery Williams “Detroit Junior” – piano

    Michael Robert Frank – Producer
    Blaise Barton – Engineer
    Recorded, mixed and mastered at Acme Studios, Chicago, IL
    Robert Whitall – cover and label Photographer
    Al Brandtner – Graphic Designer
    JoAnne Korczynska – Liner Note Writer

    ©P 1996, Earwig Music Company, Inc.