The Oil Man

This LP marked Big Jack Johnson’s first album without the Jelly Roll Kings and his debut as a songwriter. It got rave...


  • This LP marked Big Jack Johnson’s first album without the Jelly Roll Kings and his debut as a songwriter. It got rave reviews in many publications, including Billboard and Rolling Stone. Jack went on to record two more albums on Earwig plus another with Frank Frost on Earwig. It established him as one of the greatest electric blues guitarists after the classic period of 1950s and ‘60s Chicago blues, and enabled him to tour across the USA and internationally.

    “Johnson’s fat, reverb-drenched guitar tone and convincing vocals make for a potent combination on such classics as ‘Catfish’ and ‘How Many More Years’, and even help to compensate for such obviously derivative songs as ‘I’m Gonna Give Up Disco’ (a thinly disguised rewrite of Jr. Parker’s ‘Mystery Train’). Also worth hearing are Johnson’s delightfully distinctive treatments of ‘Steel Guitar Rag’, and oddly enough, ‘Tom Dooley’.” – The Washington Post

    “The band latches onto some irresistible grooves that are custom made for dancing (roll up the rugs) and Johnson’s guitar has a big, fat sound that makes you want to swing and sweat. Catfish, with its subtle references to Jimi Hendrix and John Lee Hooker,… ought to attract those fans of Stevie Ray Vaughn and George Thorogood if they can handle a lot more meat and a lot less sizzle.” – Jazz Times

    1. Oil Man 3:52
    2. Killing Floor 3:26
    3. Tom Dooley 2:36
    4. Catfish Blues 7:06
    5. How Many More Years 3:42
    6. Too Many Drivers 2:48
    7. Driving Wheel 3:14
    8. I’m Gonna Give Up Disco And Go Back To The Blues 4:26
    9. Part Time Love 5:55
    10. Steel Guitar Rag (Going Bass Fishing) 2:44
    11. You Can Have My Woman 2:24
  • Release Date: October 24, 1987

    Michael Robert Frank
    Jack Johnson – guitar and vocals
    Frank Frost – piano
    Ernest Roy – drums
    Walter Roy – bass
    Recorded, remixed and CD mastered at Acme Recording, Chicago, Illinois by Michael Rasfeld – chief engineer, Detlef Schmitz – second engineer, and Paul Smith
    Alan Howell – front cover, Patty Johnson – back cover.
    George Hansen – original album front cover artwork and design
    Terran Doehrer – CD redesign